North Sea Port VAF
NOTIFICATION: YOU ARE IN STAGING MODE - Make sure you do not share this link with unauthorized people - Clear live cache
Television Composer of the Year
Television Composer of the Year
Share this

Since 2016 the World Soundtrack Academy recognises the contribution of television composers to the art of scoring for screen. The World Soundtrack Award for Television Composer of the Year is presented to the composer who is considered to have created the best body of work (for one or multiple TV series) over the past year. The 2020 winner is Nicholas Britell (Succession).

Submit your score(s)

All members of the World Soundtrack Academy are invited to submit composers and songs for consideration in the categories Film Composer of the Year, Television Composer of the Year and Best Original Song. Scores and songs are eligible if the film or TV series had its world premiere between 16 June 2020 and 15 June 2021. Submissions for the WSAwards longlists are now open until 15 June, and are free of charge, but membership of the WSAcademy is required. 

Submit here for the Television Composer of the Year longlist.


2020 - Succession (season 2)

Britell Nicholas

Succession (season 2)
View nominees

2020 WINNER Listen on Spotify
2019 - ‘Chernobyl’; ‘Ófærð’ (‘Trapped’ – Season 2)

Guðnadóttir Hildur

‘Chernobyl’; ‘Ófærð’ (‘Trapped’ – Season 2)
View nominees

2019 WINNER Listen on Spotify
2018 - ‘Game of Thrones’ (Season 7); ‘The Strain’ (Season 4); ‘Westworld’ (Season 2)'

Djawadi Ramin

‘Game of Thrones’ (Season 7); ‘The Strain’ (Season 4); ‘Westworld’ (Season 2)'
View nominees

2018 WINNER Listen on Spotify
Year Composer Score Nominees Spotify
2017 Gregson-Williams Rupert The Crown View nominees
2016 Beal Jeff House of Cards View nominees

World Soundtrack Awards

Rule Book 2021

WSA Composition Contest

Rule Book 2021
Online communication by Lavagraphics